Prajnesh Gunneswaran qualifies for main draw

Top seeded Chun-Hsin Tseng of Taipei and Australia’s Marc Polmans advanced to the Round of 16 of the DafaNews Bengaluru Open 2023 with comprehensive wins on Monday.

The prestigious ATP Challenger event is being organised by the Karnataka State Lawn Tennis Association (KSLTA) at the KSLTA Stadium in Bengaluru.

Tseng, a World No 131, did not have to break much sweat in warding off Frederico Silva of Portugal in straight sets 6-4, 6-4.

Tseng bagged the first set 6-4 with the help of a single break. The Taipei player was in full control of the proceedings, sending down 3 aces and winning a humongous 93% of first serves.

The second set started in a rather bizarre manner with both Tseng and Silva trading breaks in the first five games. Both the players committed a slew of unforced errors in that passage of the game.

Tseng made the decisive break in the 6th game of the second set after saving 6 breakpoints, which gave him a 4-2 lead. Tseng swelled the lead to 5-3 with another easy hold in the 8th game.

A forehand unforced error while returning by Silva handed Tseng the match point which converted a point later with an ace, his 6th in the match, down the T.

In the other Round of 32 match of the day, world number 284 Marc Polmans of Australia defeated sixth seeded Francesco Maestrelli of Italy in a lop-sided match 6-1, 6-2 to enter the round of 16.

Meanwhile, fifth seed Luca Nardi of Italy also advanced to the Round of 16 with a facile 6-4, 6-4 win over Miljan Zekic of Serbia.

The DafaNews Bengaluru Open 2023 was inaugurated on Monday (February 20) by Mr R Ashoka, Hon’ble Minister for Revenue, Government of Karnataka and President, KSLTA, in the presence of Mr Eric Lamquet, Director, ATP Challenger Tour, and Mr Priyank Kharge, Member of Legislative Assembly, Government of Karnataka and Sr Vice President, KSLTA.

Prajnesh qualifies, Sasikumar ousted

India had a mixed day in the second round of Qualifying matches on Monday (February 20). Prajnesh Gunneswaran breezed past Carlos Sanchez Jover of Spain 6-4, 6-3. M Sasikumar went down to Jason Jung in straight sets 5-7, 4-6.

Other results (Qualifying)

Giovanni Perricard bt Yasutaka Uchiyama 7-5, 6-1.

James McCabe bt Hiroki Moriya 6-1, 6-3

Nikola Milojevic bt Yunseong Chung 7-6 (2), 6-4

Albek Kachmazov bt Colin Sinclair 7-5, 6-2

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: