Siddharth Rawat wins singles title in New Delhi : Weekly round up for the week starting 21st March


Rohan and Sania are playing at Miami Masters and have won their first round matches. Will update their results in next week’s summary.

ATP Challenger Tour

Ramkumar against played singles qualifying this time on indoor hard courts in Switzerland as he did not enter in time but had another Q1 loss losing in straight sets against a player form Finland whom he had beaten last year. 8th consecutive loss in pros for Ramkumar this year. However, he had good success in doubles where he got back with Purav Raja this week and they made it all the way to the final before beating the top seeded pair which included top 10 player Pierre-Hughes Herbert.

Jeevan and VSP played together this week but lost in first round against a seeded pair.

These are summarised results at challenger level-

At Biel Challenger 80, Switzerland

[Q1] (1) Ramkumar Ramanathan (IND,171) l. Otto Virtanen (FIN,412) 46 26

[R1] Ramkumar Ramanathan (IND) / Pura Raja (IND) d. Zhe Li (CHN) / Go Soeda (JPN) 64 64

[QF] Ramkumar Ramanathan (IND) / Pura Raja (IND) d. (4) Hunter Resse (USA) / Sam Verbeek (NED) 63 64

[SF] Ramkumar Ramanathan (IND) / Pura Raja (IND) d. Dan Added (FRA) / Michail Pervolarakis (GRE) 61 64

[F] Ramkumar Ramanathan (IND) / Purav Raja (IND) l. (1) Pierre-Hughes Herbert (FRA) / Albano Oliverti ( FRA) 36 46

At Zadar Challenger, Croatia (Clay)

[R1] Jeevan Neduncheziyan (IND) / Vijay Sunder Prashanth (IND) l. (4) Marco Bortolotti (ITA) / Sadio Doumbia (FRA) 26 36

ITF Tour

This week our women players continued in Australia on clay in Canberra and had decent results with both Ankita and Rutuja making it to second round of main draw and together making it to SF of doubles.These are results of our players this week.

At ITF W60 Canberra (Clay)

[Q1] (4) Rutuja Bhosale (IND,509) d. Erica Layton (AUS,NR) 61 63

[Q1] (12) Sowjanya Bavisetti (IND,648) d. Zali Morris (AUS,NR) 62 62

[Q2] (4) Rutuja Bhosale (IND,516) d. (13) Gabriela Da Silva Fick (AUS,725) 36 75 10-8

[Q2] (12) Sowjanya Bavisetti (IND,648) l. (5) Olivia Tjandramilia (AUS,511) 76(6) 16 4-10

[R1] Ankita Raina (IND,323) d. (WC) Alexandra Bozovic (AUS,456) 60 63

[R1] (Q) Rutuja Bhosale (IND,516) d. (Q) Akiko Omae (JPN,400) 63 26 75

[R1] Pranjala Yadalapalli (IND,631) l. (4) Krumi Nara (JPN,195) 36 26

[R2] Ankita Raina (IND,323) l. (WC) Kimberly Birrell (AUS,670) 36 57

[R2] (Q) Rutuja Bhosale (IND,516) l. (6) Ellen Perez (AUS,196) 36 26

[R1] (3) Ankita Raina (IND) / Rutuja Bhosale (IND) d. Alexandra Bozovic (AUS) / Alexandra Osborne (AUS) 63 64

[QF] (3) Ankita Raina (IND) / Rutuja Bhosale (IND) d. Nagi Hanatani (JPN) / Erika Sema (JPN) 62 75

[SF] (3) Ankita Raina (IND) / Rutuja Bhosale (IND) l. Yuki Naito (JPN) / Uchijima Moyuka (JPN) 36 67(3)

Prajnesh Gunneswaran had a bad second round in a futures in California. His decision to play a couple of futures came unstuck.

At ITF M25 Calabasas,CA, USA

[R1] (1) Prajnesh Gunneswaran (IND,233) d. (Q) Colin Markes (USA,1005) 64 64

[R2] (1) Prajnesh Gunneswaran (IND,233) l. Ezekiel Clarke (USA,654) 36 61 26

Our men continued for final week of Indian futures series in New Delhi-

Siddharth Rawat wins title in New Delhi

At ITF M15 New Delhi, India

[R1] (Q) Vinayak Sharma Kaza (IND,NR) l. (6) Nitin Kumar Sinha (IND,912) 26 16
[R1] Digvijay Pratap Singh (IND,1286) d. Anirudh Chandrasekar (IND,1301) 63 63
[R1] Abhinav Sanjeev Shanmugam (IND,986) l. Dev Javia (IND,1038) 46 26
[R1] (1) Siddharth Rawat (IND,581) d. Nishant Dabas (IND,2111) 30 (retd)

[R1]  (4) Robert Strombachs (GER,749) vs.( Q) Madhvin Kamath (IND,NR) 36 12

[R1] (WC) Rishi Reddy (IND,1293) l. (Q) Siddharth Vishwakarma (IND,2052) 46 06
[R1] (4) Robert Strombachs (GER,749) l. (Q) Madhvin Kamath (IND,NR) 36 46
[R1] (5) Julian Cash (GBR,830) l. S D Prajwal Dev (IND,984) 46 26

[R1] Rishab Agarwal (IND,989) vs. (3) Manish Sureshkumar (IND,658) 63 46 46

[R1] Enzo Wallert (FRA,869) d. (WC) Karan Singh (IND,1663) 60 62
[R1] Alexis Canter (GBR,1177) d. Dalwinder Singh (IND,1253) 63 16 16
[R1] (Q) Dhakshineswar Suresh (IND,NR) d. Nicolas Tepmahc (FRA,897) 64 62

[R2] (1) Siddharth Rawat (IND,581) d. Dev Javia (IND,1038) 61 61
[R2] (Q) Siddharth Vishwakarma (IND,2052) d. (Q) Madhvin Kamath (IND,NR) 63 63
[R2] (6) Nitin Kumar Sinha (IND,912) d. Alexis Canter (GBR,1177) 62 64
[R2] Digvijay Pratap Singh (IND,1286) d. Maks Kasnikowski (POL,952) 46 76(4) 61
[R2] (3) Manish Sureshkumar (IND,658) d. (WC) Faisal Qamar (IND,1434) 52 retd
[R2] S D Prajwal Dev (IND,984) d. Yann Wojcik (POL,916) 61 36 75
[R2] (Q) Dhakshineswar Suresh (IND,NR) d. Ishaque Eqbal (IND,1105) 63 63

[QF] (1) Siddharth Rawat (IND,568) d. Enzo Wallert (FRA,869) 61 76(1)
[QF] (Q) Siddharth Vishwakarma (IND,2054) d. (6) Nitin Kumar Sinha (IND,912) 64 63
[QF] (3) Manish Sureshkumar (IND,658) d. Digvijay Pratap Singh (IND,1286) 46 64 76(4)
[QF] SD Prajwal Dev (IND, 984) d. (Q) Dhakshineshwar Suresh (IND,1558) 76 63

[SF] (1) Siddharth Rawat (IND,568) d. (Q) Siddharth Vishwakarma (IND,2054) 76(3) 67(3) 63

[SF] SD Prajwal Dev (IND, 984) d. (3) Manish Sureshkumar (IND,658) 63 63

[F] (1) Siddharth Rawat (IND,568) d. SD Prajwal Dev (IND, 984) 63 62

Yuki and Saketh won their second title in 3 weeks as they easily came thru without dropping a set this whole week

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.