Dhakshineswar Suresh into his maiden ITF Pro Circuit Quarterfinals

As the summer season begins here in India, the temperature has been set rising by this tall and lanky lad from Chennai Dhakshineswar Suresh who has entered into his maiden ITF Pro Circuit quarterfinal. The wiry Suresh Dhakshineswar sustained his strong run by breezing past Ishaque Eqbal 6-3, 6-3 in the pre-quarterfinals of the $15K ITF men’s tennis tournament at the DLTA Complex.

En-route his journey to the QFs, he got wins against Chinmaya Dev Chauhan in QR1, Paras Dahiya in QR2, Lohithaksha Bathrinath in QR3, Nicolas Tepmahc in R1, Ishaque Eqbal in R2 and is set to face S D Prajwal Dev in the QF. He beat all of them but one in straight sets (won against Paras Dahiya in the super tiebreaker). Ishaque had beaten the second seed in R1. Dhakshineswar Suresh is coached by Rajiv Vijaykumar and guided by the former Asian Games and Commonwealth Games champion Somdev Devvarman.

Digvijay Pratap Singh, who was selected as a reserve for the Davis Cup tie against Denmark, has made into the QFs as well in his back to back ITF tournaments. He beat the higher ranked Polish Maks Kasnikowski 4-6 7-6(4) 6-1 making a comeback after losing the first set.

Manish Sureshkumar continues to impress in the ITF Pro Circuit reaching his 3rd quarterfinal of the season in as many weeks. He won the match against Faisal Qamar who retired just before the first set 5-2 (retd)

Nitin Kumar Sinha has reached the QF as well with an easy win agianst the British Alexis Canter 6-2 6-4. Playing at his training base, he’ll look to make the most of the playing conditions against his QF opponent Siddharth Vishwakarma, a former national champion who has been playing extremely well in this tournament by entering as a qualifier.

S D Prajwal Dev shows the door to Yann Wojcik in a three set thriller to reach the QFs. The score line was 6-1 3-6 7-5. A couple of good wins after a string of losses should boost his confidence and he next faces Dhakshineswar Suresh in the QFs.

The results:

Singles (R2): Sidharth Rawat bt Dev Javia 6-1, 6-1; Enzo Wallart (Fra) bt Dostanbek Tashbulatov (Kaz) 6-3, 6-4; Siddharth Vishwakarma bt Madhwin Kamath 6-3, 7-5; Nitin Kumar Sinha bt Alexis Canter (GBR) 6-2, 6-4; Digvijay Pratap Singh bt Maks Kasnikowski (Pol) 4-6, 7-6(4), 6-1; Manish Sureshkumar bt Faisal Qamar 5-2 (retired); S D Prajwal Dev bt Yann Wojcik (Pol) 6-1, 3-6, 7-5; Dhakshineswar Suresh bt Ishaque Eqbal 6-3, 6-3.

Doubles (QFs): Anirudh Chandrasekar & Vishnu Vardhan bt Maks Kasnikowski & Yann Wojcik (Pol) 3-6, 6-4, [13-11]; Enzo Wallart (Fra) & Rishab Agarwal bt Julian Cash (GBR) & Robert Strombachs (Ger) 6-7(4), 6-3, [11-9]; Ishaque Eqbal & Dalwinder Singh w.o. Faisal Qamar & Abhinav Sanjeev Shanmugam; Yuki Bhambri & Saketh Myneni bt Nitin Kumar Sinha & Parikshit Somani 7-5, 4-6, [10-4].

Rishab is a tennis/table tennis player

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: