Rutuja wins ITF W25 Pune doubles title ; Ramkumar qualifies for ATP 250 Doha : Week of 8th Mar – Indian Tennis Roundup


Ramkumar qualifies for ATP 250 Doha

Ramkumar Ramanathan qualified for the main draw at Doha ATP 250 with a good upset win in second qualifying round before losing in first round to young talent Bublik, These are his results this week –

 ATP 250 Doha

[Q1] (7) Ramkumar Ramanathan (IND,202) d. Frederik Nelson (DEN,NR) 64 61
[Q2] (7) Ramkumar Ramanathan (IND,202) d. (2) Norbert Gombos (SVK,95) 63 61
[R1] (Q) Ramkumar Ramanathan (IND,202) l. Alexander Bublik (KAZ,43) 46 26

There was a slight verbal altercation between Ramkumar and Bublik at the end of the match. The details of the same can be found on the link, posted by TennisTV, below –

Ankita Raina upsets former world number 5 Sara Errani in Mexico

Ankita Raina travelled to Mexico to play singles qualifying and doubles at a WTA tournament. She had one of her career best wins over French open finalist Sara Errani but lost in second qualifying round and first round of doubles. These are her results this week- 

WTA 250 Abierto Zapopan, Guadalajara, MEX

[Q1] Ankita Raina (IND,168) d. (2) Sara Errani (ITA,106), 26 64 63
[Q2] Ankita Raina (IND,168) l. (11) Leonie Kung (SUI,158) 06 16

[R1] Ankita Raina (IND) / Paula Kania-Chodun (POL) l. Eugenie Bouchard (CAN) / Coco Vandeweghe (USA) 67(7) 26

Sania Mirza continues her comeback in Dubai

Sania Mirza continued her comeback at the WTA 1000 Dubai Open, winning a round with partner Andreja Klepac, before losing out to 7th seeds Carter/Stefani

WTA 1000 Dubai Duty Free Championships 2021

[R1] Sania Mirza/Andreja Klepac (IND/SLO) d. Zheng Saisai/Shelby Rogers (CHN/ USA) 61 63
[R2] Sania Mirza/Andreja Klepac (IND/SLO) l. (7) Hayley Carter / Luisa Stefani (USA/BRA) 36 36

Photos from Sania’s matches can be found below –

ATP Challengers

In challengers this week, Arjun Kadhe and Sriram Balaji played doubles and won a round each with their respective partners. These are their results this week –

ATP St. Petersburg Challenger 2, Russia

[R1] Arjun Kadhe (IND) / Skander Mansouri (TUN) d.  Benjamin Lock (ZIM) / Marc Varvoort (NED) 62 62
[QF] Arjun Kadhe (IND) / Skander Mansouri (TUN) l. Dmitry Popko (KAZ) / Alexy Vatutin (RUS) 46 61 8-10 

ATP Biella 3 Challenger, Italy

[R1] (2) N. Sriram Balaji (IND) / Luca Margaroli (SUI) d. Andrea Arnaboldi (ITA) / Luca Vanni (ITA) 63 64
[QF] (2) N. Sriram Balaji (IND) / Luca Margaroli (SUI) l.. Dustin Brown (GER) / Marc-Andrea Huesler (SUI) 36 67(5)

ITF Futures

Again there were 2 Indian tournaments ( men and women) which were played in India in Indore for men and $25K one for women in Indore.But, none of the Indians could make the semi finals in either of the tournaments. These are the results –

ITF Indore M15 –

(1) Saketh Myneni (IND) d. (WC) Ishaque Eqbal (IND) 64 64
(5) Oliver Crawford (USA) d. Nitin Kumar Sinha (IND) 46 62 61
(3) Aidan McHugh (GBR) d. Aryan Goveas (IND) 61 63
(Q) Paras Dahiya (IND) d. Dhruv Sunish (IND) 63 75
Dalwinder Singh (IND) d. (WC) Raghav Jaisinghani (IND) 63 60
(8) Luca Castelnuovo (SUI) d. (Q) Muthu Aadhitiya Senthilkumar (IND) 64 64
(Q) Madhwin Kamath (IND) d. (Q) Siddharth Vishwakarma (IND) 26 64 64
(4) Jonathan Mridha (SWE) d. Dev Javia (IND) 60 61
(7) Manish Sureshkumar (IND) d. Anirudh Chandrasekar (IND) 63 62
S D Prajwal Dev (IND) d. (WC) Denim Yadav (IND) 62 57 62
Zane Khan (USA) d.(WC) N. Vijay Sundar Prashanth (IND) 63 63
(2) Sidharth Rawat (IND) d. Niki Kaliyanda Poonacha (IND) 67(7) 62 62 

(1) Saketh Myneni (IND) l. Filip Bergevi (SWE) walkover
(3) Aidan McHugh (GBR) d. Paras Dahiya (IND/Q) 64 61
(8) Luca Castelnuovo (SUI) d d. Dalwinder Singh (IND) 64 63
(6) Eric Vanshelboim (UKR) d. Madhwin Kamath (IND/Q) 61 60
(7) Manish Sureshkumar (IND) d. d. S D Prajwal Dev (IND) 63 26 63
Zane Khan (USA) d. (2) Sidharth Rawat (IND) 6-2 6-2

[QF] Zane Khan (USA) d. (7) Manish Sureshkumar (IND) 64 61

ITF ITF W25, Pune

(Q)Soha Sadiq (IND) d. (1) Riya Bhatia (IND) 46 62 61
(wc)Vaidehi Chaudhari (IND) d. Ashmitha Easwaramurthi (IND) 64 60
Jasmin Jebawy (GER) d. Jennifer Luikham (IND) 61 57 62
(6)Emily Webley-Smith (GBR) d. Sathwika Sama (IND) 62 61
(3)Laura Pigossi (BRA) d. (wc)Saumya Vig (IND) 62 60
(Q)Nidhi Chilumula (IND) d. (Q)Shreya Tatavarthy (IND) 63 60
Sowjanya Bavisetti (IND) d. Likhitha Kalava (IND) 63 61
(7)Zeel Desai (IND) d. (Q)Farhat Aleen Qamar (IND) 60 26 62
(Q)Sravya Shivani Chilakalapudi (IND) d. (wc)Snehal Mane (IND) 62 60
(4)Rutuja Bhosale (IND) d. (Q)Arthi Muniyan (IND) 61 61
(8)Irina Khromacheva (RUS) d. Shrivalli Rashmikaa Bhamidipaty (IND) 64 64
Mihika Yadav (IND) d. (wc)Akanksha Dileep Nitture (IND) 63 61
Ramya Natarajan (IND) d. Bhuvana Kalva (IND) 62 75
(2)Miriam Bianca Bulgaru (ROU) d. Humera Baharmus (IND) 62 63

(WC)Vaidehi Chaudhari (IND) d. (Q)Soha Sadiq (IND) 64 62
(3)Laura Pigossi (BRA) d. (Q)Nidhi Chilumula (IND) 60 63
(7)Zeel Desai (IND) d. Sowjanya Bavisetti (IND) 46 61 62
(4)Rutuja Bhosale (IND) d. (Q)Sravya Shivani Chilakalapudi (IND) 61 63
(8)Irina Khromacheva (RUS) d. Mihika Yadav (IND) 62 62
(2)Miriam Bianca Bulgaru (ROU) d. Ramya Natarajan (IND) 63 61

[QF] (WC) Vaidehi Chaudhari (IND) l. (6) Emily Webley-Smith (GBR) 62 46 36
[QF] (7) Zeel Desai (IND) l. (3) Laura Pigossi (BRA) 46 36
[QF] (4) Rutuja Bhosale (IND) l. (5) Marianna Zakarlyuk (UKR) 57 26

There was some consolation in doubles as Rutuja won the doubles title along with Emily Webley-Smith

Emily Webley Smith and Rutuja Bhosale with their doubles title

This week Mukund lost in QF in Egypt

ITF Sharm El Sheikh M15, Egypt

[R1] (2) Sasi Kumar Mukund (IND,314) d. Takuto  Niki (JPN,612) 61 67(4) 76(4)
[R2] (2) Sasi Kumar Mukund (IND,314) d. Michael Pervolarakis (GRE,469) 6-3, 7-6 (0) 
[QF] (2) Sasi Kumar Mukund (IND, 314) l. (6) Petros Chrysochos (CYP,407) 36 16

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: