Suraj, Madhwin score upset wins to enter main round

Karnataka’s Suraj Prabodh and Gujarat’s Madhwin Kamath scored upset victories to make it to the main draw after knocking out fancied players in the ITF Dharwad Men’s World Tennis Tour 2023 at the Dharwad District Lawn Tennis Association courts here on Tuesday. The main draw of the US $ 25,000 began today.

While Madhwin staged a superb comeback win against former Indian Davis Cupper and Asian Games medalist Vishnu Vardhan 5-7, 6-3, 10-5, Suraj sidelined 14th seed Yash Yadav in straight sets 6-4, 6-1.

In only two singles matches played on the opening day of the main rounds, third seed Digvijay Pratap Singh overcame a fighting Siddhanth Bhatia 6-2, 7-6 (7) while Nitin Kumar Sinha sent wild card entrant Rishi Reddy home with a facile 6-2, 6-2 victory. In the doubles matches, the Indian pair of Sai Karteek Reddy Ganta and Manish Sureshkumar upset second seeds Bogdan Bobrov and Nick Chappell of the USA 6-3, 3-6, 10-5.

After bad light and mild rain had stopped the match between Madhwin and Vishnu with the scores tied at 4-4 in the first set yesterday, Vishnu, capitalising on an error-prone Madhwin won the first set 7-5 today. However, the 21-year-old from Gujarat staged a superb comeback winning the second set with breaks in the 4th and 6th games and took the match into the decider. Vishnu faltered with his serve and returns alike and conceded the advantage after leading 4-2 and finally succumbed to the youngster.

Men’s Singles Round of 32

  • (3)Digvijay Pratap Singh bt Siddhant Banthia  6-2, 7-6 (7)
  • Nitin Kumar Sinha  bt WC-Rishi Reddy 6-2, 6-2

Doubles Round of 16

  • Manish Ganesh/Suraj R Prabodh bt Deepak Anantharamu/Rashein Samuel 7-6 (3), 6-3
  • Rishab Agarwal/Florent Bax (FRA) bt Adil Kalyanpur/Ryotaro Matsumura (JPN) 6-4, 5-7, 10-4
  • Ishaque Eqbal/ Faisal Qamar bt Chirag Duhan/Dev Javia 6-3, 6-7 (4), 10-4
  • Jake Bhangdia (USA) /Raghav Jaisinghani bt Tushar Madan/ Jagmeet Singh 6-3, 6-4
  • (4)Siddhant Banthia /Vishnu Vardhan bt Thijmen Loof (NED)/Stijn Pel (NED) 6-4, 6-1
  • (3)SD Prajwal Dev/Nitin Kumar Sinha bt Yash Chaurasia/Atharva Sharma 6-1, 6-2
  • Sai Karteek Reddy Ganta/ Manish Sureshkumar bt (2)Bogdan Bobrov/Nick Chappell (USA) 6-3, 3-6, 10-5
  • (1)Purav Raja/Ramkumar Ramanathan Vs. Digvijay Pratap Singh/Karan Singh 6-7 (7) (postponed due to bad light)

Final Qualifying Round

  • (11)Madhwin Kamath bt (1)Vishnu Vardhan 5-7, 6-3, 10-5
  • Suraj R Prabodh bt (14)Yash Yadav 6-4, 6-1
  • Abhinav Sanjeev Shanmugam bt Tushar Madan 6-3, 6-3
  • (5)Ranjeet Virali-Murugesan bt (10)Kabir Hans 4-6, 6-3, 10-6

Rishab is a tennis/table tennis player

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.