Prajnesh reaches challenger final in Mexico, Ankita-Rutuja win title in Australia : Week of 7th March- Indian Tennis Round-up


Ramkumar Ramanathan was the only Indian to play singles qualifying at Indian Wells. Unfortunately, Ramkumar continued his losing streak in 2022 although he put up a much better fight than his previous 3 loss against Brit Liam Broady.

Sania Mirza and Rohan Bopanna are playing doubles there. Sania along with Kristen Flipkens lost in second round while Rohan is yet to play his first round match.

At Indian Wells ATP/WTA 1000

[Q1] Ramkumar Ramnathan (IND,170) l. (17) Liam Broady (GBR,123) 26 63 46

[R1] Sania Mirza (IND) / Kirsten Flipkens (BEL) d. Shuko Aoyama (JPN) / Aleksandra Krunic (SRB) 63 36 10-7

[R2] Sania Mirza (IND) / Kirsten Flipkens (BEL) l. (5) Gabriela Dabrowski (POL) / Giuliana Olmos (MEX) 46 64 3-10

ATP Challenger Tour

Prajnesh Gunneswaran had his best week since more than a year as he made a challenger final at big challenger 100 in Mexico. This was timely deep run by Prajnesh just when his ranking had gone down to 278 and he was in danger of missing out in grand slam qualifying draws. This run will take him back to 232 in the rankings and now has a very good chance to make it to the qualifying draws of French open and Wilbledon with a few decent runs in next couple of months.

Jeevan played with a different partner this week and Balaji and Divij played together but both pairs lost in first round .

These are results of our players on ATP challenger tour this week-

These are their results this week-

At Monterrey Challenger 100, Mexico

[R1] (7) Prajnesh Gunneswaran (IND,278) d. (WC) Ryan Harrison (USA,522) 63 64

[R2] (7) Prajnesh Gunneswaran (IND,278) d. Alex Rybakov (USA,368) 76(1) 61

[QF] (7) Prajnesh Gunneswaran (IND,278) vs. (3) Jason Jung (TPE,223) 16 75 64

[SF] (7) Prajnesh Gunneswaran (IND,278) d. Go Soeda (JPN,275) 67(7) 76(4) 64

[F] (7) Prajnesh Gunneswaran (IND,278) l.(1) Fernando Verdasco (ESP,150) 64 36 67(3)

At Roseto Deguli Abruzzi Challenger 80, Italy

[R1] N.Sriram Balaji (IND) / Divij Sharan (IND) l. (WC) Andrea Del Federico (ITA) / Giorgio Ricca ((ITA)

[R1] Jeevan Nedunchezhiyan (IND) / Karol Drzewiecki (POL) l. Andrej Martin (SVK) / Tristan-Samuel Weissborn (AUT) 36 67(6)

ITF Tour

Ankita Raina and Rutuja Bhosale won the doubles title at W25 title in Bendigo, Australia. In singles too Rutuja had a good win over a higher ranked player in first round. Pranjala Yadalapalli played her first tournament of this year here and had a good win in R1. Both Rutuja and PRanjala lost in second round to seeds while Ankita ran into top seed Arina Rodionova whom she had upset last week in first round itself and this time Arina beat Ankita easily.

These are their results this week-

At W25, Bendigo, Australia

[Q1] (3) Rutuja Bhosale (IND,511) d. Sienna Lesson (AUS,NR) 62 61

[Q1] (8) Sowjanya Bavisetti (IND,649) l. Elna Micic (AUS,NR) 67(3) 03 retd

[Q2] (3) Rutuja Bhosale (IND,511) d. (12) Alexandra Osborne (AUS,755) 36 63 10-4

[R1] Ankita Raina (IND,339) l. (1) Arina Rodionova (AUS,177) 16 16

[R1] (Q) Rutuja Bhosale (IND,509) d. Weronica Falkovska (POL,398) 60 62

[R1] Pranjala Yadlapalli (IND,647) d. (Q) Yui Chikaraishi (JPN,884) 76(1) 62

[R2] (Q) Rutuja Bhosale (IND,509) l. (7) Jamie Fourlis (AUS,294) 76(1) 26 46

[R2] Pranjala Yadlapalli (IND,647) l. (6) Olivia Gadecki (AUS,250) 26 46

[R1] (2) Ankita Raina (IND) / Rutuja Bhosale (IND) d. Yui Chikaraishi (JPN) / Tina Nadine Smith (AUS) 62 63

[QF] (2) Ankita Raina (IND) / Rutuja Bhosale (IND) d. Lu Jia-Jing (CHN) / Abbie Meyers (AUS) 64 64

[SF] (2) Ankita Raina (IND) / Rutuja Bhosale (IND) d. Jang Sujeong (KOR) / Lee Ya Hsuan (TPE) 61 75

[F] (2) Ankita Raina (IND) / Rutuja Bhosale (IND) d. Alexandra Bozovic (AUS) / Weronica Falkovska (POL) 46 63 10-4

3 weeks future series for men started this week in Bhopal. Most of the Indian players except top 2 – Prajnesh and Ramkumar are playing here although Yuki and Saketh are only playing doubles here.

Arjun Kadhe won the singles title without dropping a set. Yuki and Saketh won the doubles title.

These are results of our players this week in Bhopal-

[R1] (WC) Ishaque Eqbal (IND,1233) d. (1) Sasikumar Mukund (IND,369) 46 76(4) 20 retd.
[R1] Rishab Agarwal (IND,1033) d. (Q) Madhwin Kamath (IND,1988) 62 64
[R1] Nicolas Tepmahc (FRA,1039) d. Nitin Kumar Sinha (IND,888) 63 62
[R1] (7) Niki Kaliyanda Poonacha (IND,840) d. Constantin Bittoun Kouzmine (FRA,922) 62 26 64
[R1] (4) Arjun Kadhe (IND,668) d. Rishi Reddy (IND,1308) 61 63
[R1] (Q) Vishnu Vardhan (IND,1338) d. (WC) Digvijay Pratap Singh (IND,1239) 63 64
[R1] (Q) Adil Kalyanpur (IND,1329) d. Alexis Canter (GBR,1198) 63 63
[R1] (Q) Faisal Qamar (IND,1453) d. (5) Dominik Palan (CZE,692)
[R1] (6) Robert Strombachs (GER,767) d. Dalwinder Singh (IND,1073) 63 62
[R1] (Q) Lohithaksha Bathrinath (IND,1579) d. (Q) Siddharth Vishwakarma (IND,1483) 67(2) 61 62
[R1] Nishant Dabas (IND,NR) d. (WC) Udit Yadav (IND,NR) 60 63
[R1] (3) Manish Sureshkumar (IND,662) d. Maks Kasnikowski (POL.969) 64 36 61
[R1] (8) Julian Cash (GBR,873) d. S D Prajwal Dev (IND,955) 63 75
[R1] Abhinav Sanjeev Shanmugam (IND,996) d. (WC) Sushant Dabas (IND,NR) 63 64
[R1] Dev Javia (IND,1090) d. (Q) Paras Dahiya (IND,1618) 63 75
[R1] (2) Sidharth Rawat (IND,585) d. Daisuke Sumizawa (JPN,1144) 64 67(5) 61

R2] (WC) Ishaque Eqbal (IND,1233) d. Rishab Agarwal (IND,1033) 73 57 61
[R2] Nicolas Tepmahc (FRA,1039) d. (7) Niki Kaliyanda Poonacha (IND,840) 64 20 retd
[R2] (4) Arjun Kadhe (IND,668) d. (Q) Vishnu Vardhan (IND,1338) 64 76(4)
[R2] (Q) Faisal Qamar (IND,1453) d. (Q) Adil Kalyanpur (IND,1329) 76(2) 64
[R2] (6) Robert Strombachs (GER,767) d. (Q) Lohithaksha Bathrinath (IND,1579) 63 64
[R2] (3) Manish Sureshkumar (IND,662) d. Nishant Dabas (IND,NR) 61 63
[R2] (8) Julian Cash (GBR,873) d. Abhinav Sanjeev Shanmugam (IND,996) 63 63
[R2] (2) Sidharth Rawat (IND,585) d. Dev Javia (IND,1090) 61 60

[QF] Nicolas Tepmahc (FRA,1039) d. (WC) Ishaque Eqbal (IND,1233) 64 60
[QF] (4) Arjun Kadhe (IND,668) d. Q) Faisal Qamar (IND,1453) 76(3) 63
[QF] (3) Manish Sureshkumar (IND,662) d. (6) Robert Strombachs (GER,767) 36 64 62
[QF] (2) Sidharth Rawat (IND,585) d. (8) Julian Cash (GBR,873) 26 64 64

[SF] (4) Arjun Kadhe (IND,668) d. Nicolas Tepmahc (FRA,1039) 62 76(5)
[SF] (2) Sidharth Rawat (IND,585) d. (3) Manish Sureshkumar (IND,662) 62 60

[F] (4) Arjun Kadhe (IND,668) d. (2) Sidharth Rawat (IND,585) 76(2) 64

Yuki Bhambri and Saketh Myneni only played doubles here and went on to win the title quite easily without dropping a set.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: