Sania Mirza reaches semi final in Doha- Week of 21st February – Indian Tennis Roundup


Sania Mirza along with her Czeck partner Lucie Hradecka had another good week where they made the semi finals with included upset win over world’s top ranked pair.They lost to the third seeds in the semi finals. However, after this week Sania will make it back to top 50 in the WTA doubles rankings which is great in her last season.

We had Rohan Bopanna playing with Aslan Karatsev in Dubai ATP 500 and Ramkumar and Saketh got the doubles wild card. But, both got tough seeded players in first round and lost after giving a decent account of themselves. In Dubai, Yuki Bhambri had and excellent upset win over Maharashtra Open champion and current top 100 player Joao Sousa from Portugal but he lost in final qualifying round against in-form Australian Christopher O’Connell .

These are the results of our players on ATP/WTA tour-

At Qatar Open WTA 1000

[R1] Lucie Hradecká (CZE)/ Sania Mirza (IND) d. Monica Niculescu (ROM)/ Vera Zvonareva (RUS), 64 63
[R2] Lucie Hradecká (CZE)/ Sania Mirza (IND) d. (8) Ana Danilina (KAZ)/ Brenda Haddad Maia (BRA), 75 75

[QF] Lucie Hradecká (CZE)/ Sania Mirza (IND) d. (1) Barbora Krejčíková (CZE)/ Katarina Siniaková (CZE), 76(5), 43 Ret.

[SF] Lucie Hradecká (CZE)/ Sania Mirza (IND) l. (3) Vera Kudermetova (RUS)/ Ellen Mertens (BEL), 06 36

At Dubai ATP 500

[Q1] Yuki Bhambri (IND,669) d. (5) Joao Sousa (POR,86) 63 36 76(5)

[Q2] Yuki Bhambri (IND,669) l. Christopher O’Connell (AUS,148) 36 46

[R1] Rohan Bopanna (IND) /Aslan Karatsev (RUS) l. (1) Nikola Mektic (CRO) /Mate Pavic (CRO) 26 63 5-10

[R1] WC-Ramkumar Ramanathan (IND)/Saketh Myneni (IND) l. (3) John Peers (AUS)/Filip Polasek (SVK) 57 57

ATP Challenger Tour

The only Indians playing challenger tour this week were the pair of Jeevan Neduncheziyan and Purav Raja. They started their stint in Europe with a challenger in France. They won a round and lost in QF against top seeds.

At Pau Challenger 80, France

[R1] Jeevan Nedunzheziyan (IND) /Purav Raja (IND) d. Alexandre Muller (GER) / Nino Serdarusic (CRO) 64 62

[QF] Jeevan Nedunzheziyan (IND) /Purav Raja (IND) l. (1) Jonny O’Mara (GBR) / Matt Reid (AUS) 57 67(2)

ITF Tour

Ankita Raina and Rutuja Bhosale travelled to Kazakhstan to play 60K tournament but had a bad week. Ankita lost in first round and playing doubles together they too lost in first round. Rutuja had a decent win over higher ranked player in Q1 but lost in Q2.

Riya Bhatia had another first round loss in her Central American tour.

Other Indian players continues to play in Indian series which continued in Ahemdabad this week. Zeel Desai reached her second final in 3 weeks but title again went to a foreign player, third seeded German. Next week will be the last one of the series in Nagpur and hope an Indian can win a title that week.

These are results of our players on ITF tour-

At W60 Nur-Sultan, Kazakhstan

[Q1] Rutuja Bhosale (IND,498) d. (11) Marianna Zakarlyuk (UKR,419) 36 63 11-9

[Q2] Rutuja Bhosale (IND,498) l. (7) Nagi Hantani (JPN,405) 46 67(9)

[R1] Ankita Raina (IND,290) l. Linda Noskova (CZE,240) 46 06

[R1] (4) Ankita Raina (IND) / Rutuja Bhosale (IND) l. Anna Kubareva (BEL) / Fanny Ostuland (SWE) 26 46

At W25 Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic

[R1] Riya Bhatia (IND,444) l. Anna Sinclair Rogers (USA,995) 16 26

At W15 Ahemedabad


Zeel DESAI IND d. Farhat Aleen QAMAR IND 61 31 retd
Sravya Shivani CHILAKALAPUDI IND d. Pratyusha RACHAPUDI IND 75 57 64
Shreya TATAVARTHY IND d. wc Jagmeet Kaur GREWAL IND 61 75
q Shachf LIEBERMAN ISR d. (8) Mihika YADAV IND 62 46 63
(4) Punnin KOVAPITUKTED THA d, Sahaja YAMALAPALLI IND 76(4) 64
Humera BAHARMUS IND d. Soha SADIQ IND 76(4) 62
q Ilaria SPOSETTI ITA d, Arthi MUNIYAN IND 64 16 63
Shrivalli Rashmikaa BHAMIDIPATY IND d. (6) Jennifer LUIKHAM IND 62 62
(5) Vaidehi CHAUDHARI IND d, wc Khushali MODI IND 62 62
q Sharmada BALU IND d. q Ishwari MATERE IND 75 63
Sai Samhitha CHAMARTHI IND d. Nidhi CHILUMULA IND 67(6) 60 61
(3) Emily SEIBOLD GER d. Saumya VIG IND 64 61
(7) Sathwika SAMA IND d. wc Riya UBOVEJA IND 61 61
q Yubarani BANERJEE IND d, q Niditra RAJMOHAN IND 64 63
Elena JAMSHIDI DEN d. wc Kashish BHATIA IND 62 61
Akanksha Dileep NITTURE IND d. (2) Anna UREKE RUS 36 64 75


Zeel DESAI IND d. Sravya Shivani CHILAKALAPUDI IND 62 62
Shreya TATAVARTHY IND d. q Shachf LIEBERMAN ISR 46 64 62
(4) Punnin KOVAPITUKTED THA d. Humera BAHARMUS IND 62 62
Shrivalli Rashmikaa BHAMIDIPATY IND d. q Ilaria SPOSETTI ITA 61 60
(5) Vaidehi CHAUDHARI IND d. q Sharmada BALU IND 62 62
(3) Emily SEIBOLD GER d. Sai Samhitha CHAMARTHI IND 61 60
q Yubarani BANERJEE IND d. (7) Sathwika SAMA IND 63 61
Akanksha Dileep NITTURE IND d. Elena JAMSHIDI DEN 63 62

[QF] (1) Zeel DESAI (IND,600) d. Shreya Tatavarti (IND,1487) 62 64
[QF] Shrivalli Rashmikaa BHAMIDIPATY (IND,1020) d. (4) Punnin KOVAPITUKTED (THA,803) 46 62 61
[QF] (3) Emily SEIBOLD (GER,754) d. (5) Vaidehi CHAUDHARI (IND,831) 75 60
[QF] Akanksha Dileep NITTURE (IND,1325) d. (Q) Yubarani BANERJEE (IND,1591) 75 64

[SF] (1) Zeel DESAI (IND,600) d. Shrivalli Rashmikaa BHAMIDIPATY (IND,1020) 75 75

[SF] (3) Emily SEIBOLD (GER,754) d. Akanksha Dileep NITTURE (IND,1325) 63 61

[F] (1) Zeel DESAI (IND,600) l. (3) Emily SEIBOLD (GER,754) 26 16

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: