Sumit makes historic QF at ATP 250 Buenos Aires, Sania makes a comeback: Week of 1st Mar – Indian Tennis Roundup

ATP/ WTA tour

Sumit Nagal had an excellent run from the qualifying till the main draw quarter final in the Bunes Aires ATP 250 in Argentia on red clay. Sumit got his first ATP main draw win and followed up with a top 20 win against one of the top current claycourters Christin Garin.

These are his results this week-

At Buenos Aires, ATP 250 ( Clay)

[Q1] Sumit Nagal (IND,148) d. Carlos Gomez-Herrera (ESP,359) 76(2) 26 76(2)

[Q2] Sumit Nagal (IND,148) d. Mario Vilella Martinez (ESP,193) 64 62

[Q3] Sumit Nagal (IND,150) d. Nicolas Kicker (ARG,NR) 62 26 63

[R1] Sumit Nagal (IND,150) d. Joao Sousa (POR,100) 62 60

[R2] Sumit Nagal (IND,150) d. (2) Cristian Garin (CHI,22) 64 63

[QF] Sumit Nagal (IND,150) l. Albert Ramos-Vinolas (ESP,46) 64 26 57

Sania Mirza made her comeback this week post covid break and straightway ran into form reaching SF and lost narrowly there. These are her resuls this week-

At Qatar Total Open, Doha WTA 500

[R1] (WC) Sania Mirza (IND) / Andreja Klepac (SLN) d. Ludmila Kichenok (UKR) / Nadia Kichenok (UKR) 64 67(5) 10-5

[QF] (WC) Sania Mirza (IND) / Andreja Klepac (SLN) d.  (4) Anna Blinkova (RUS) /Gabriela Dabrowski 62 60

[SF] (WC) Sania Mirza (IND) / Andreja Klepac (SLN) l. (2) Demi Schuurs (NED) / Nicole Melichar (US) 57 62 5-10

ATP Challengers

Prajnesh Gunneswaran had his second consecutiverun to the SF in Nur-Sultan Challenger,, Kazakhstan. Ramkumar also played here but lost in second round. Arjun Kadhe lost in second round of doubles in Russia.

These are their results this week –

[R1] (8) Prajnesh Gunneswaran (IND,134) d. Julian Lenz (GER,255) 36 62 63

[R1] Ramkumar Ramanathan (IND,202) d. Hugo Grenier (FRA,253) 64 36 63

[R2] (8) Prajnesh Gunneswaran (IND,134) d. Tatsuma Ito (JPN,202) 6-3, 2-0 (40-0) retd

[R2] Ramkumar Ramanathan (IND,202) l. Frederico Ferreira Silva (POR, 179) 46 57

[QF] (8) Prajnesh Gunneswaran (IND,134) d. (4) James Duckworth (AUS,102) 64 26 76(1)

[SF] (8) Prajnesh Gunneswaran (IND,134) l. Tomas Machac (CZE,166) 36 61 26

At St. Petersburg Challenger 1 80, Russia

[R1] (4) Arjun Kadhe (IND) / Benjamin Lock (ZIM) d. Altug Celikbilek (TUR) / Cel Ilkel (TUR) 64 61

[QF] (4) Arjun Kadhe (IND) / Benjamin Lock (ZIM) l. Benjamin Hassan (GER) / Alexey Vatutin (RUS) 57 57

ITF circuit

These were 2 Indian tournaments ( men and women) that were played in India after more than a year. Saketh Myneni finished runner up in the men’s futures while Zeel Desai lost in the semi-finals of women’s futures. Yuki Bhambri /Saketh Myneni beat Vijay Sundar Prashanth/ Kaza Vinayak Sharma to lift the Men’s Doubles title. Prarthana Thombare/Sowjanya Bavisetti finished as runners-up in the women’s doubles event in Delhi.

At Lucknow M15


(1) Saketh Myneni (IND) d. (Q) shaque Eqbal (IND) 63 63
(2) Sidharth Rawat (IND) d. Alexis Canter (GBR) 62 62
(Q) Dalwinder Singh (IND) d. (Q) Kaza Vinayak Sharma (IND) 76(3) 63
8-Luca Castelnuevo (SUI) d. Niki Kaliyandi Poonacha (IND) 46 63 62

(3) Aidan MCHUGH (GBR) d. (Q) Nitin Kumar SINHA (IND) 63 26 62
Filip BERGEVI (SWE) d. Dhruv SUNISH (IND) 63 64
(4) Jonathan MRIDHA (SWE) d. (WC) Paras DAHIYA (IND) 63 63
(5) Eric VANSHELBOIM (UKR) d. Aryan GOVEAS (IND) 63 75


  • Saketh MYNENI (IND) d. S D Prajwal DEV (IND) 62 64
    (WC) Siddharth VISHWAKARMA (IND) d. (7) Manish SURESHKUMAR (IND) 76(4) 36 60
    (6) Oliver CRAWFORD (USA) d. (Q) Suraj R PRABODH (IND) 62 26 63
    (4) Jonathan MRIDHA (SWE) d.(WC) Digvijay Pratap SINGH (IND) 61 63
    (5) Eric VANSHELBOIM (UKR) d. (Q) Lakshit SOOD (IND) 67(4) 61 62
    (2) Sidharth RAWAT (IND) d. (Q) Dalwinder SINGH (IND) 76(3) 75


  • Saketh MYNENI (IND) d. (WC) Siddharth VISHWAKARMA (IND) 63 76(2)
  • Sidharth RAWAT (IND) l. (5) Eric VANSHELBOIM (UKR) 36 26

[SF] (1) Saketh Myneni (IND,461) d. Aidan Mchugh (GBR,568) 63 64

[F] (1) Saketh Myneni (IND,461) l. Zane Khan (USA,846) 67(3) 36

Yuki Bhambri played only doubles here along with Saketh Myneni and won the title easily.

At ITF W15, New Delhi


  • Riya BHATIA IND d. (WC) Yubarani BANERJEE IND 63 63
    Jennifer LUIKHAM IND d. (Q) Smriti BHASIN IND 64 62
    Elena JAMSHIDI DEN d. Mihika YADAV IND 36 76(5) 75
    (7) Pia LOVRIC SLO d. Lucie PETRUZELOVA CZE 75 64
    (4) Zeel DESAI IND d. Nikola BRECKOVA CZE 64 62
    Ashmitha EASWARAMURTHI IND d. Bhuvana KALVA IND 63 26 64
    Humera BAHARMUS IND d. Shrivalli Rashmikaa BHAMIDIPATY IND 63 75
    (6) Sowjanya BAVISETTI IND d. Sathwika SAMA IND 63 62
    (8) Adrienn NAGY HUN d. (Q) Nidhi CHILUMULA IND 60 26 60
    (WC) Prerna BHAMBRI IND d. (WC) Soha SADIQ IND 64 64
    Sravya Shivani CHILAKALAPUDI IND d. (WC) Jagmeet Kaur GREWAL IND 64 60
    (3) Rutuja BHOSALE IND d. Likhitha KALAVA IND 60 62
    (5) Irina KHROMACHEVA RUS vs Saumya VIG IND 61 60
    (Q) Farhat Aleen QAMAR IND d. (Q) Akanksha Dileep NITTURE IND 64 64
    (Q) Sai Samhitha CHAMARTHI IND d. (Q) Sharmada BALU IND 61 16 63
    (2) Miriam Bianca BULGARU ROU vs Vaidehi CHAUDHARI IND 63 36 64


Jennifer LUIKHAM IND d. (1) Riya BHATIA IND 61 16 63
(4) Zeel DESAI IND d. Ashmitha EASWARAMURTHI IND 61 62
Humera BAHARMUS IND d.(6) Sowjanya BAVISETTI IND 60 63
(8) Adrienn NAGY HUN d. (WC) Prerna BHAMBRI IND 62 60
(3) Rutuja BHOSALE IND d. Sravya Shivani CHILAKALAPUDI IND 62 62
(5) Irina KHROMACHEVA RUS d.(Q) Farhat Aleen QAMAR IND 60 63
(2) Miriam Bianca BULGARU ROU d. (Q) Sai Samhitha CHAMARTHI IND 62 62


(7) Pia LOVRIC SLO d. Jennifer LUIKHAM IND 75 57 75
(4) Zeel DESAI IND d. Humera BAHARMUS IND 64 46 63
(8) Adrienn NAGY HUN d. (3) Rutuja BHOSALE IND 16 63 26

[SF] (4) Zeel DESAI (IND,622) l. (7) Pia Lovric (SLO,767) 67(2) 16

This week Mukund reached SF in Egypt.

At Sharm El Sheikh M15, Egypt

[R1] (2) Sasi Kumar Mukund (IND,311) d. MICHAEL Bassem Sobhy (EGY,NR) 61 61
[R2] (2) Sasi Kumar Mukund (IND,311) d. (Q) GABRIELE Bosio (ITA,2009) 60 62
[QF] (2) Sasi Kumar Mukund (IND,311) d. MARTINS Podzus (LAT,443) 63 61

[SF] (2) Sasi Kumar Mukund (IND,311) vs. (Q) EDOARDO Eremin (ITA,1561)

ITF circuit

Aman Dahiya and Nishant Dabas finish as the winner and runner up respectively in the Boys’ singles J4 ITF Junior event in Chandigarh. In Boys’ Doubles Nishant Dabas/ Chirag Duran lift the title while Bushan Haobam/ Yuvan Nandal finished as runners-up.

In the girls’ event, the Maruri sisters rocked the show by lifting the Girls’ doubles title and faced off against each other in the singles event. Suhitha Maruri beat Reshma Maruri to lift the Girls’ singles trophy

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: