Weekly Roundup 2020.02.10 : Disappointment for Indian players in singles at Bengaluru Challenger, doubles title for Raja/Ramanathan

It was a decent doubles week for our players across the globe – with Purav Raja and Ramkumar Ramanathan winning their third ATP Challenger title together in Bengaluru, the pair of Rohan Bopanna and Denis Shapovalov making to the SF at the ATP 500 Rotterdam, and Ankita Raina making the doubles SF at WTA Hua Hin event.

With these performances, Purav Raja is up to 82nd and Ramkumar Ramanathan up to 106th in the latest ATP Doubles rankings, while Ankita Raina is expected to move into the Top 125 in the WTA Doubles rankings for the first time in her career.

ATP Bengaluru Challenger –

  • Our players started out really well in in singles with few very good upsets in initial round. With 6 Indian players in last 16, there was a lot of hope but all 6 of them lost in the third round with only 1 set won between them which was disappointing. 
  • In doubles we had much better success with 3 Indians in doubles final. The all Indian pairing of Purav Raja and Ramkumar Ramanathan won the title beating the pair of Leander Peas and Matthew Ebden easily in the final
Somdev Devvarman was in attendance in Bengaluru, watching the action from close quarters (Credits – Deepthi Indukuri)

Results Summary –
[R1] Sasikumar Mukund (IND,263) d. Blaz Kavcic (SLO,281) 26 63 64
[R1] Sidharth Rawat (IND,479) d. Borna Gojo (CRO,273) 36 76(3) 76(3)
[R1] (WC) S D Prajwal Dev (IND,953) l Khumoyun Sultanov (UZB,325) 26 16
[R1] Saketh Myneni (IND,406) d. Aslan Karatsev (RUS,258) 63 63
[R1] (WC) Niki Kaliyanda Poonacha (IND,1105) d.  (WC) Adil Kalyanpur (IND,1029) 64 67(5) 76(4)
[R1] (WC) Arjun Kadhe (IND,612) l Malek Jaziri (TUN,242) 26 67(5)
[R1] (WC) Suraj R Prabodh (IND,1858) l Vladyslav Orlov (UKR,413) 26 26

[R1] (Q) Abhinav Sanjeev Shanmugam (IND,1097) d. Daniel Masur (GER,253) 75 63
[R1] (Alt) Manish Sureshkumar (IND,664) l Benjamin Bonzi (FRA,368) 26 36
[R1] (Q) Julian Ocleppo (ITA,391) l (Q) Anirudh Chandrasekhar (IND,1057) 16 26

[R2] Sasikumar Mukund (IND,263) l (13) Ilya Ivashka (BLR,148) 57 36
[R2] Saketh Myneni (IND,406) d. (6) Evgeny Donskoy (RUS,111) 63 63
[R2] (WC) Niki Kaliyanda Poonacha (IND,1105) d. (16) Lukas Rosol (CZE,168) 64 26 63
[R2] (8) Sumit Nagal (IND,125) d. Malek Jaziri (TUN,242) 60 64

[R2] (17) Ramkumar Ramanathan (IND,182) d. (Q) Abhinav Sanjeev Shanmugam (IND,1097) 61 63
[R2] Sidharth Rawat (IND,479) d. (LL) Rishi Reddy (IND,UNR) 62 62
[R2] (7) Prajnesh Gunneswaran (IND,122) d. (Alt) Sebastian Fanselow (GER,609) 62 46 64

[R3] (17) Ramkumar Ramanathan (IND,182) l (13) Ilya Ivashka (BLR,148) 67(2) 16
[R3] Sidharth Rawat (IND,479) l Julian Ocleppo (ITA,391) 57 46
[R3] Saketh Myneni (IND,406) l (9) Thomas Fabbiano (ITA,133) 46 75 26
[R3] (7) Prajnesh Gunneswaran (IND,122) l Benjamin Bonzi (FRA,368) 67(5) 06
[R3] (WC) Niki Kaliyanda Poonacha (IND,1105) l (3) Yuichi Sugita (JPN,82) 57 36
[R3] (8) Sumit Nagal (IND,125) l (11) Blaz Rola (SLO,149) 36 36

Raja/Ramanathan beat Paes/Ebden in successive weeks (Credits – Ranjith Kumar)
Saketh Myneni and Matt Reid made the SFs beating the top seeds in the QF

Doubles –

[R1] (WC) N Vijay Sundar Prashanth (IND)/ Vishnu Vardhan (IND) l (1) Cheng-Peng Hsieh (TPE)/ Denys Molchanov (UKR) 36 67(6)
[R1] (4) Purav Raja (IND)/ Ramkumar Ramanathan (IND) bt (WC) SD Prajwal Dev (IND)/ Adil Kalyanpur (IND) 62 62
[R1] N. Sriram Balaji (IND)/ Jeevan Nedunchezhiyan (IND) l Frederico Ferreira Silva (POR)/ Nikola Milojevic (SRB) 76(1) 57 8-10

[R1] Saketh Myneni (IND)/ Matt Reid (AUS) bt (WC) Nikshep Ballekere Ravikumar (IND)/ Vasisht Cheruku (IND) 63 61
[R1] Matthew Ebden (AUS)/ Leander Paes (IND) bt Blaz Rola (SLO)/ Zhizhen Zhang (CHN) 76(2) 64
[R1] Prajnesh Gunneswaran (IND)/ Sumit Nagal (IND) l (3) Andre Goransson (SWE)/ Christopher Rungkat (INA) 36 46

[QF] Saketh Myneni (IND)/ Matt Reid (AUS) bt (1) Cheng-Peng Hsieh (TPE)/ Denys Molchanov (UKR) 36 64 10-8
[QF] (4) Purav Raja (IND)/ Ramkumar Ramanathan (IND) bt Frederico Ferreira Silva (POR)/ Nikola Milojevic (SRB) 64 64
[QF] Matthew Ebden (AUS)/ Leander Paes (IND) bt (3) Andre Goransson (SWE)/ Christopher Rungkat (INA) 75 06 10-7

[SF] (4) Purav Raja (IND)/ Ramkumar Ramanathan (IND) bt Saketh Myneni (IND)/ Matt Reid (AUS) 75 retd.
[SF] Matthew Ebden (AUS)/ Leander Paes (IND) bt (2) Jonathan Erlich (ISR)/ Andrei Vasilevski (BLR) 64 36 10-7

[F] (4) Purav Raja (IND)/ Ramkumar Ramanathan (IND) d. Matthew Ebden (AUS)/ Leander Paes (IND) 60 63

WTA Tour –

Ankita Raina continued in Thailand playing WTA event in Hua Hin. She lost in first round of singles but had a good run to the SF in doubles. With that run in Ankita will move to a new career high ranking inside top 125. She is slowly but surely moving up towards top 100 ranking in doubles. 

Riya Bhatia too played in qualifying and won a round before losing in second qualifying round.

These are her results for the week in Thailand –

Singles –

[Q1] (12) Riya Bhatia (IND,358) d. Eden Silva (GBR,455) 61 46 62
[Q2] (12) Riya Bhatia (IND,358) l (5) Ellen Perez (AUS,250) 06 16

[R1] Ankita Raina (IND,198) l Katarzyna Kawa (POL,127) 63 06 16

Doubles –

[R1] Ankita Raina (IND)/ Rosalie Van Der Hoek (NED) d. Desirae Krawczyk (USA)/ Xiaodi You (CHN) 64 64
[QF] Ankita Raina (IND)/ Rosalie Van Der Hoek (NED) d. Fang Ying Xun (CHN)/ Saisai Zheng (CHN) 76(5) 64
[SF] Ankita Raina (IND)/ Rosalie Van Der Hoek (NED) l Arina Rodionova (AUS)/ Storm Sanders (AUS) 16 0-3 retd.

ATP Tour –

Rohan Bopanna and Divij Sharan played in ATP tournaments in Rotterdam and New York and reached SF and QF respectively. These are their results there.

At €2.1M ABN Amro World Tennis Tournament 2020, Rotterdam, Netherlands

[R1] Rohan Bopanna (IND)/ Denis Shapovalov (CAN) d.  John Peers (AUS)/ Michael Venus (NZL) 76(0) 67(5) 10-8
[QF] Rohan Bopanna (IND)/ Denis Shapovalov (CAN) bt (4) Jean-Julien Rojer (NED)/ Horia Tecau (ROU) 62 36 10-7
[SF] Rohan Bopanna (IND)/ Denis Shapovalov (CAN) l. (Q) Henri Kontinen (FIN)/Jan-Lennard Struff (GER) 75 26 8-10

Shapovalov and Bopanna at Rotterdam (Credits – Rotterdam Open)

At $804K New York Open 2020, U.S.A.

[R1] Divij Sharan (IND)/ Artem Sitak (NZL) d. (1) Austin Krajicek (USA)/ Franko Skugor (CRO) 76(3) 63
[QF] Divij Sharan (IND)/ Artem Sitak (NZL) l Steve Johnson (USA)/ Reilly Opelka (USA) 36 46

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: